It's Friday 6:05 PMThe Library is currently closed
Catalog | Hours | Get a Card | Suggestion Form | Donate | Account | Contact
It's Friday 6:05 PMThe Library is currently closed

Students and Educators

Databases

Curriculum Resource Center
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout materials for middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
ERIC, the “Education Resource Information Center,” contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Educators Edition
*Click on “For Educators” at the top after signing in to access. This collection for educators provides access to lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards, full-text articles from high-quality educational journals, and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Primary Schools
Includes the full-text of popular elementary school magazines, children’s encyclopedia entries, and more. All complete articles are assigned reading-level indicators (Lexiles). In addition to articles, this resource also includes more than a million images, including photos, maps, and flags. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Public Libraries
Designed for teens and adults, this resource offers an extensive collection of full-text articles from leading magazines and reference books on a wide variety of topics. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Secondary Schools
Designed for students in grades 6-12, this resource offers magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

History Research Center
Find articles and resources on history spanning from ancient times to modern day, in addition to American Indian, African-American, and American history. Also includes a Curriculum Tools section for students, containing guides on how to approach the research and paper writing process. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Learning Express
“Learning Express” is an acclaimed provider of online platforms for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, and career-oriented digital content. It features resources for elementary through high school students, plus college and professional career preparation levels. Learning Express also allows users to focus on their job search skills and build their resumes, in addition to computer and Internet basics and popular software proficiencies. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Middle Search Plus
This resource provides full-text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full-text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. It also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 400,972 photos, maps, and flags. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

NoveList
NoveList is a readers’ advisory tool that allows you to search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles and retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more. All of this rich editorial content is crafted by librarians and reading authorities who are experts in the field. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

NoveList K-8
School media specialists, teachers, and parents interested in helping kids locate age-appropriate books in the library will appreciate the features and depth of content contained within NoveList K-8. Designed especially for elementary and middle school students, NoveList K-8 is an online database with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains more than 380 core topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic. Points of View Reference Center also contains a Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate the database content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Primary Search
Primary Search provides full-text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full-text information dates as far back as 1990. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. Also includes a Curriculum Tools section for students containing guides on how to approach research papers and science fair projects, in addition to a section for educators on how to conduct classroom science experiments. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for more than 200 peer-reviewed journals, covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Tutor.com
Tutor.com is an online tutoring company that provides tutoring, homework help, test preparation and career resources to students and adults in an online platform, through both live sessions (every day from noon to midnight) and on-demand materials made accessible 24/7. Subjects include English, science, math, social studies, and grammar, in addition to career services such as resume review, job searching, and interview preparation. Tutor.com is also a powerful test preparation platform, offering help with a variety of exams ranging from the SAT to Citizenship. Click here for a guide to get started. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

World Almanac for Kids Online
Presents resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills from a trusted source. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

World Geography and Culture Online
This comprehensive reference site makes it easy to study all aspects of a country, with facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more. In addition, comprehensive entries about the U.S. states are also available. Ideal for social studies classrooms and projects as well as for general country research. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Let’s Connect

Please note: The Library will no longer be open on Saturdays starting December 5.