Newspapers and Current Events

Databases

America’s News (NewsBank)
America’s News is a powerful online resource that empowers libraries to provide relevant information to a wide variety of patrons. With current content and deep archives from more than 3,650 U.S. news sources, it is useful for exploring a diverse range of popular topics including business, health, politics, careers, entrepreneurship and much more. America’s News features national, regional and local news content that delivers multiple perspectives on practically any issue, person or event across the country. It is the most comprehensive domestic news resource available.  Features 60 NJ newspapers including the Star-Ledger, and the Record. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely. Generously underwritten by the Montclair Public Library Foundation.
.

American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Black Life in America
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Explora Public Libraries
Designed for teens and adults, this resource offers an extensive collection of full-text articles from leading magazines and reference books on a wide variety of topics. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.
.

Hispanic Life in America
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Libby, by OverDrive
Libby by OverDrive provides eBooks, audiobooks, and digital magazines for reading online or downloading. The magazine collection was formerly on RBDigital. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.
. .

Military and Government Collection
This resource covers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, offering a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other pertinent content. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains more than 380 core topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic. Points of View Reference Center also contains a Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate the database content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

US Major Dailies
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. With print and online editions, the titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and global events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.