It's Thursday 10:12 PMThe Main Library is Currently Closed
Catalog | Locations | Get a Card | Suggestion Form | Donate | Account | Contact
It's Thursday 10:12 PMThe Main Library is Currently Closed

History and Geography

Databases

African American Experience
The definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

African American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African American history. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

American Indian History Online
Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

American Women’s History Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women’s history in the United States. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Ancestry

March 19, 2020: Ancestry is offering remote access on a temporary basis. Click here and enter your library card when prompted.

This resource offers unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. Ancestry is available for in-library (Main Library) use only, through either the public internet computers or the library’s WiFi. No library card is needed.  

Ancient and Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

European Views of the Americas (1493-1750)
Provides a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Includes a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, slavery and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Public Libraries
Designed for teens and adults, this resource offers an extensive collection of full-text articles from leading magazines and reference books on a wide variety of topics. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

History Research Center
Find articles and resources on history spanning from ancient times to modern day, in addition to American Indian, African-American, and American history. Also includes a Curriculum Tools section for students, containing guides on how to approach the research and paper writing process. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

HeritageQuest
A genealogy resource by Ancestry that can be used remotely. Enjoy access to City Directories, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Agricultural and Industrial Schedules, and more. We also have Ancestry available for use within the library. Click here for a guide to get started. Use any NJ library card to access remotely. 

Latino American Experience
“Latino American Experience” (LAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinx people. Wide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first-ever full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinx people living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Colombian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States to the triumphs and challenges facing the present-day U.S. Latinx population. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Military and Government Collection
This resource covers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, offering a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other pertinent content. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Modern World History Online
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history, from the mid-15th century to the present. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Montclair History Online
Over 13,000 historic images of Montclair Township, each with a written description. Browse through the photos or search by keyword. No library card needed.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, all federal statutes related to slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The database also contains hundreds of books and pamphlets written about slavery. Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law is available for in-library use only, through either the public internet computers or the library’s WiFi. If interested in having free access to this database offsite, register as an individual.

World Geography and Culture Online
This comprehensive reference site makes it easy to study all aspects of a country, with facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more. In addition, comprehensive entries about the U.S. states are also available. Ideal for social studies classrooms and projects as well as for general country research. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Let’s Connect

Curbside Pickup and Returns

The Montclair Public Library is offering curbside pickup and returns of library materials. Click here for full details. The building remains closed to the public.