It's Monday 8:18 AMThe Library is currently closed
Catalog | Locations | Get a Card | Suggestion Form | Donate | Account | Contact
It's Monday 8:18 AMThe Library is currently closed

Research

Included with Your Library Card!

Browse By Category

African American Studies

General Studies

Literature

Business and Consumer Information

Health and Science

Newspapers and Current Events

Career, Test, and College Preparation

History and Geography

Students and Educators

Full List A - Z

Enjoy access to free premium research databases from MPL and the New Jersey State Library.

In-library access: All of these research databases can be used by anyone in the library during operating hours, with no library card or sign in required, except for Gale Biography in Context and Gale Literature Resource Center.

Remote access: Most of these databases can also be used remotely using a Montclair Public Library card or New Jersey library card. This is noted at the end of each description.

Getting started: For assistance in using these databases, open a chat using the button located in the bottom right corner of our website.

Academic Search Premier
This resource contains indexing for 8,025 publications, with full-text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology, etc. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

African American Experience
The definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

African American History Online
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African American history. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

American History Online
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

American Indian History Online
Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American culture, history, and heritage. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Ancestry
As of March 19, 2020: Ancestry is offering remote access on a temporary basis. Enter your library card when prompted.

This resource offers unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.

Under normal circumstances, Ancestry is available for in-library (Main Library) use only, through either the public internet computers or the library’s WiFi.

Ancient and Medieval History Online
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Bloom’s Literature
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, influential movements, and events in world literature. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Business Source Elite
Provides full-text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full-text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in “Business Source Elite” provides information dating back to 1985. Updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Consumer Reports
Consumer Reports (CR) is an expert, independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to work for a fair, just, and safe marketplace for all consumers and to empower consumers to protect themselves. The organization was founded in 1936 when advertising first flooded the mass media. Consumers lacked a reliable source of information they could depend on to help them distinguish hype from fact and good products from bad ones. Since then, CR has filled that vacuum with a broad range of consumer information. To maintain its independence and impartiality, CR accepts no outside advertising and no free samples and employs several hundred mystery shoppers and technical experts to buy and test the products it evaluates. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Curriculum Resource Center
Provides a library of printable teacher-handout materials for middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Driving-Tests.org
Includes free practice tests written specifically based on the New Jersey DMV materials as well as access to the “NJ Driver’s Handbook,” “NJ Moto Handbook,” and “NJ CDL Handbook.” No library card needed.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to a wide selection of full-text scholarly, reference, and professional eBooks that cover topics including the social sciences, humanities, science, and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
ERIC, the “Education Resource Information Center,” contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

European Views of the Americas (1493-1750)
Provides a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Includes a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, slavery and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Educators Edition
*Click on “For Educators” at the top after signing in to access. This collection for educators provides access to lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards, full-text articles from high-quality educational journals, and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Primary Schools
Includes the full-text of popular elementary school magazines, children’s encyclopedia entries, and more. All complete articles are assigned reading-level indicators (Lexiles). In addition to articles, this resource also includes more than a million images, including photos, maps, and flags. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Public Libraries
Designed for teens and adults, this resource offers an extensive collection of full-text articles from leading magazines and reference books on a wide variety of topics. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Explora Secondary Schools
Designed for students in grades 6-12, this resource offers magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
Provides valuable information on industries, job search skills, school selection guidance for high school students, as well as information on scholarships, internships, apprenticeships, and grants. Click here for a guide to get started.  Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Foundation Directory Online
Through December 2020, access Candid’s (candid.org) Foundation Directory Online (Essential level). Staff can also assist you with more in-depth funding searches directly. Email reference@montclair.bccls.org for assistance.
The most up-to-date, complete information you can get about grantmakers and the grants they’ve made. Under normal circumstances, FDO is available for in-library (Main Library) use only, through either the public internet computers or the library’s WiFi. No library card needed.  

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Gale Biography in Context
Offers a comprehensive collection of biographies on more than 525,000 people from around the world, throughout history, and across all subjects. Includes audiovisual materials and over 2.5 million full-text articles. Click here for a guide to getting started. Use your Montclair Public Library card or any Bergen County Cooperative Library System (BCCLS) card to access.

Gale Literature Resource Center
Provides access to a wide variety of literary resources, including author biographies, interviews, images, as well as full-text articles, essays, reviews, poems, short stories, plays, and more. Use any Bergen County Cooperative Library System (BCCLS) card to access.

GreenFILE
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Contains a collection of scholarly, government, and general interest titles which cover subjects like global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Health Reference Center
Provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

HeritageQuest
A genealogy resource by Ancestry that can be used remotely. Enjoy access to City Directories, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Agricultural and Industrial Schedules, and more. Click here for a guide to get started. Use any NJ library card to access remotely. 

History Research Center
Find articles and resources on history spanning from ancient times to modern day, in addition to American Indian, African-American, and American history. Also includes a Curriculum Tools section for students, containing guides on how to approach the research and paper writing process. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Job and Career Accelerator
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Latino American Experience
“Latino American Experience” (LAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinx people. Wide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first-ever full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinx people living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Colombian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States to the triumphs and challenges facing the present-day U.S. Latinx population. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Learning Express
“Learning Express” is an acclaimed provider of online platforms for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, and career-oriented digital content. It features resources for elementary through high school students, plus college and professional career preparation levels. Learning Express also allows users to focus on their job search skills and build their resumes, in addition to computer and Internet basics and popular software proficiencies. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Legal Information Reference Center
Providing exclusive online full-text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, “Legal Information Reference Center” contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Literary Reference Center
“Literary Reference Center” (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database that provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Literary Reference eBook Collection
Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

MasterFILE Elite
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full-text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection
Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Middle Search Plus
This resource provides full-text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full-text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. It also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 400,972 photos, maps, and flags. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Middle Search Reference eBook Collection
Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Middle School Resources
“Gale in Context: Middle School” covers all core subjects like science, literature, social issues and history and helps middle school students develop both research and critical-thinking skills while covering the spectrum of student-focused subject matter. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Military and Government Collection
This resource covers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, offering a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other pertinent content. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Modern World History Online
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history, from the mid-15th century to the present. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Montclair History Online (Formerly Historic Image Database)
Over 13,000 historic images of Montclair Township, each with a written description. Browse through the photos or search by keyword. No library card needed.

Montclair Times (March 2008-Present)
Full-text digital access to the Montclair Times from March 2008 to present-day! For issues prior to March 2008, contact an MPL staff member as we have back issues on microfilm (1877-2000) and PDF (2000-2008) at the main library. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

New York Times (1851-2016)
Full-text of the New York Times from its start in 1851 to December 31, 2016. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Non-English Databases
Several databases that provide access to a wide variety of information including news, health, business, and more, written in Spanish, French, and German. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

NoveList
NoveList is a readers’ advisory tool that allows you to search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and readable nonfiction titles and retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more. All of this rich editorial content is crafted by librarians and reading authorities who are experts in the field. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

NoveList K-8
School media specialists, teachers, and parents interested in helping kids locate age-appropriate books in the library will appreciate the features and depth of content contained within NoveList K-8. Designed especially for elementary and middle school students, NoveList K-8 is an online database with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

OpenDissertations
Contains records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains more than 380 core topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic. Points of View Reference Center also contains a Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate the database content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Pressbooks
Pressbooks is an easy-to-use online tool that allows you to create professional quality versions of your book in ePUB, MOBI, PDF and more! For assistance in using the platform, check out this video and print guideUse your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely or set up your account within Montclair with location services enabled on your device.

Primary Search
Primary Search provides full-text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full-text information dates as far back as 1990. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Primary Search Reference eBook Collection
Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Reference Solutions (***formerly known as Reference USA***)
Use with library card
Use with geolocation*
The No. 1 source of information on businesses and people for researchers, students, job seekers, business owners, and government agencies. Use any NJ library card to access remotely or enable geolocation. *How geolocation works.

Referencia Latina
Referencia Latina, a comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries. | Una base de datos completa de habla hispana, que ofrece contenido de una variedad de contenido incluyendo 49,000 entradas enciclopedicas, más de 100,000 imágenes, 2,500 informes sobre la salud, un diccionario español-inglés y texto completo para más de 100 libros de referencia y docenas de revistas de interés general en una amplia gama de áreas temáticas. Use any NJ library card to access remotely | Usa cualquier tarjeta de biblioteca para acesarlo afuera de la biblioteca.

Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated bi-weekly. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. Also includes a Curriculum Tools section for students containing guides on how to approach research papers and science fair projects, in addition to a section for educators on how to conduct classroom science experiments. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, all federal statutes related to slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The database also contains hundreds of books and pamphlets written about slavery. Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law is available for in-library use only, through either the public internet computers or the library’s WiFi. If interested in having free access to this database offsite, register as an individual.

Small Business Reference Center
This database offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Student Resources in Context
This next-generation portal reaches out to today’s learners with a Web-like user experience, which intuitively conveys needed information on all core subjects from science to literature to history. From the eye-catching, media-rich homepage to the fast navigation options, Student Resources in Context helps students develop both research and critical-thinking skills while covering the spectrum of student-focused subject matter. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for more than 200 peer-reviewed journals, covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers. Use any NJ library card to access remotely.

Tutor.com
Tutor.com is an online tutoring company that provides tutoring, homework help, test preparation and career resources to students and adults in an online platform, through both live sessions (every day from 3pm to 11pm) and on-demand materials made accessible 24/7. Subjects include English, science, math, social studies, and grammar, in addition to career services such as resume review, job searching, and interview preparation. Tutor.com is also a powerful test preparation platform, offering help with a variety of exams ranging from the SAT to Citizenship. Click here for a guide to get started. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

World Almanac for Kids Online
Presents resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills from a trusted source. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

World Geography and Culture Online
This comprehensive reference site makes it easy to study all aspects of a country, with facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more. In addition, comprehensive entries about the U.S. states are also available. Ideal for social studies classrooms and projects as well as for general country research. Use your Montclair Public Library card to access remotely.

Let’s Connect

Curbside Pickup

The Montclair Public Library is offering curbside pickup by appointment at the Main Library. Click here for full details. Returns can be made 24/7 at the Main Library and Bellevue Avenue Branch. Both buildings remain closed to the public.