It's Wednesday 2:08 AMThe Main Library is Currently Closed
Catalog | Locations | Get a Card | Suggestion Form | Donate | Account | Contact
It's Wednesday 2:08 AMThe Main Library is Currently Closed

Board of Trustees

The Montclair Public Library is governed by a 9 member Board of Trustees, appointed by the Mayor who serve for 5 year terms.  By statute the Mayor and Superintendent are also members of the board.  New Jersey law gives the Library Board the power to “do all things necessary and proper for the establishment and maintenance of the free public library in the municipality” (N.J.S.A. 40:54-12).  It is independent of Montclair Township and was established by a vote of the residents on April 12, 1893.

Board Members

  • Wilfred Adkins, President (2023)
  • JoAnn McCullough, Secretary (2022)
  • Ilmar Vanderer, TreasurerAlternate for The Honorable Robert Jackson, Mayor
  • Lois Whipple, Treasurer (2022)
  • Alison Bauer (2024)
  • Brian Clarkson (2022)
  • Diana Lunin (2022)
  • Marcos Vargas, Alternate for Dr. Nathan Parker, Interim Superintendent of Montclair Public Schools
  • Claire Walls (2020)

Terms are designated in parenthesis and expire on December 31 of the year listed.

Meeting Dates

Meetings of the Montclair Public Library Board of Trustees are open to the public pursuant with the State of New Jersey’s Open Public Meetings Act.

All meetings are held at 7:00 pm in the Main Library auditorium unless otherwise noted.

2020 Schedule

Monday, January 13, 2020
Monday, February 10 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020 Special Meeting
Monday, April 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Monday, June 16, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Monday, November 16, 2020
Monday, December 21, 2020

Let’s Connect

Montclair Public Library Closed to Prevent the Spread of Coronavirus

The Montclair Public Library is closed to the public in accordance with New Jersey Executive Order No. 107 issued March 21, 2020. We will reopen when the Executive Order is lifted. Please explore this website for information about the programs and services we are offering virtually.